Cog and Embrocation

cogandembrocation_004blog.jpg

I’ve long harboured a desire to start up a small scale touring magazine, concentrating on soulful stories backed with sumptuous pictures. Interviews with individuals who’ve undertaken epic journeys. Reportages on businesses, like framebuilders, involved in the touring world (who often do things for love rather than money). Real world product testing, whether it be in the Scottish Highlands, the Mongolian plains or the Atacama Desert. Yes, I know it’s very niche and not economically viable, but it doesn’t stop me wishing…

Anyway, while I was in Portland at the North American Handbuilt Bike Show, I came across a couple of small scale publications bucking the trend of commercial convention. I was drawn to these magazines both by their photography and the passion behind their words. Although their heart beats to a different biking rhythm than the one I know, they’re inspiring enough to make me want to experience it through their pages, and share in their biking obsession. Track and Fixed, in the case of Cog, and Cyclocross, in the case of Embrocation.

Neither are currently available in the UK – more’s the pity – but if you drop them an email, I’m sure you can get a copy sent. Or maybe you know some shops who would like to stock them? I like to get my hands on all the bike magazines I can, but putting my money towards these small, soulful publications gives me the most pleasure.

From the pages of Embrocation…

cogandembrocation_002blog.jpg

Lovely cyclocross -inspired pictures.

cogandembrocation_003blog.jpg

A piece on framebuilder Chris Igleheart, who I was fortunate enough to meet.

And from the pages of Cog…

cogandembrocation_005blog.jpg

An interview with framebuilder John Kendziera.

cogandembrocation_006blog.jpg

A photo essay on Japanese Keirin racing.

5 Responses to “Cog and Embrocation”


  1. 1 nick March 22, 2008 at 10:46 pm

    wow, my ideal magazine and you’ve just summarised it exactly!
    I thought i was the only one who liked reading wild camping bicycle stories.
    if you ever get something up and running then i’d subscribe/contribute!. nick , south downs, petersfield
    here’s a pugsley beach adventure which was a lovely read
    http://www.freespiritwear.com/hopehomerc.html

  2. 2 otbiking March 22, 2008 at 11:15 pm

    thanks Nick.

    That’s a fantastic looking adventure on that link. Part of me has always wanted to move to somewhere like Alaska just so I have an excuse to buy a Pugsley…

  3. 3 OnAnInbred March 28, 2008 at 10:41 pm

    Sounds a great idea Cass. But what will you call the magazine?

    Top of my head:

    XRcise
    SteelorAlu
    Do you stock Shimano?
    Broken Spokes
    Spokepersons
    Threads
    RealFreeRide
    NoSuss
    Steel Nomads

    erm….. thats it… I think I need a beer for inspiration….

  4. 4 boneshakermag June 8, 2010 at 9:48 pm

    hi there!
    We are based in bristol, UK and have started producing a quarterly not-for-profit magazine about people and projects doing great things with bicycles around the globe – have a look at our blog here:

    http://boneshakermag.wordpress.com/

    Issue 1 is out now and is a 60page, advert-free, full colour, perfectly-bound publication on uncoated paper and looks lovely!
    thought you would be interested to take a look – stockists are listed on our blog…
    hope you dig it!

    all the best,

    James

    p.s. you may also be interested in this project that i set up 16months ago….
    http://www.thebristolbikeproject.org

  5. 5 Brian McGloin February 6, 2013 at 7:33 am

    There is another publication called Rolleur (or something, it’s not in front of me) which is done equally well as the ones you mention. Pave is good also.

    I’m all for doing a magazine that covers the various brands of touring and bike-related epic quests. Not everyone tours in the same way for the same reasons.

    As for a title, I love simplicity. How about “Gone?”


Leave a comment




Please check out our main website for details on our bike trips to the Indian Himalayas.

Blog Stats

  • 137,721 hits