I made that!

dsc_1180.jpg

Well, technically, I made half of it. But that’s good enough for me, and I’m still basking in the accomplishment (-;

Robin Mather kindly offered to not just to braze on some rack mounts to my Inbred 29er, but talk me through how’s it done so I could have a crack at it myself. “Useful skills if you’re going pan-Tibetan,” he said.

dsc_1148.jpg

On with the Ray Charles shades. Coat her with flax, fire the torch up, a few thousand degrees of heat and in goes the brass… Robin did one side, and after a few tentative practise runs, I did the other…

dsc_1016.jpg

The Inbred has sliding dropout, so we needed some custom mounting plates to fit to the bottom of the rack.

dsc_1012.jpg

Robin was in the zone, so I left him to it.

dsc_1043.jpg

20 minutes and a flurry of activities later, he’d rustled something up…

dsc_1220.jpg

The finished article. Mounts on the seat stays, and stainless steel adaptors bolted onto the sliders. That way the rack legs clears the bulbous calipers of a BB7 disc brake, and there’s enough clearance for a monster 29er tyre. Nice (-:

4 Responses to “I made that!”


  1. 1 Jarrod July 12, 2007 at 9:54 pm

    Does that mean you will be taking the 29er to India this summer?

  2. 2 otbiking July 17, 2007 at 4:55 pm

    The thought had popped into my mind…

  3. 3 jon meredith April 3, 2008 at 2:15 pm

    just found yer bloggage…very interesting…! i like the look of robins stuff. ive just finshed putting to gether a light off road tourer myself and fancy a more road orientated job at some point for the highland roads.

    cheers! jon

  4. 4 otbiking April 13, 2008 at 10:21 am

    Thanks Jon,

    Lost of interesting stuff over at your place too. I’ll have to get in touch re bivies and lightweight setups, as that’s the way I’m heading these days too…


Leave a Reply

Please check out our main website for details on our bike trips to the Indian Himalayas.

Blog Stats

  • 134,920 hits

